Secret Weapon: Get a crew!

Getting and staying in shape is hard work, but nobody said it has to be lonely. In fact, experts agree that working out with a group not only holds you accountable, but it breaks up the monotony that often leads to boredom when working out alone. Enter District Tri. Last October I met up with a friend who I had not regularly seen since we trained together for a Tough Mudder a few years ago. I told him that I’d had some false starts getting back on the fitness horse but that I intended to get back in gear. He told me to be on the lookout for an invitation to a chat group for a crew of folks he’d begun swimming with. The group, I later learned, was a recently formed triathlon club comprised mostly of high energy Tri newbies dedicated to supporting members of all skill levels while breaking down the barriers that traditionally keep people of color to less than 1% of the multisport community. After one swim, I was hooked.

Since my first swim, I have logged more miles in the pool this winter than the prior three seasons combined. As an unintended benefit, I have learned from others and have had the opportunity to share some of the things I have picked up along the way. Weekly swims are filled with spirited competition and genuine support. Swimmers of all skill levels are welcomed and the team’s captain, Marcus, does a great job of mixing up workouts to get the most out of the team.

Out of the pool activities include runs, bikes,  boot camps, bonding activities, community service, and yes, triathlons. I’m all in this year and have committed to compete in 5 triathlons this summer (Rock Hall, Escape Philly, NYC, Nations, and Quantico). With the 2017 tri season set to kick off I find myself looking forward to dropping pounds, logging gains, laughing and making friends along the way.

One thought on “Secret Weapon: Get a crew!

Leave a Reply

