Beat the Deadline 5K

So one of my goals is to run a 5k (3.1 miles) is less than 24 min. That works out to sub 8 minute miles. While I knew that I was nowhere near ready to reach for my goal at last Saturday’s race, it was a great opportunity to get an honest assessment of where I am.

I could not have asked for better circumstances. The weather was bright but not hot, the course had lots of shade, I had a great playlist that I’d put way too much time into creating, and I had a secret weapon -a partner (soon-to-be tough mudder Eddie) who was in better shape than me. Having a workout buddy is a great way to push yourself while focusing on something other than your time, cramps or collapsing lungs.

When the race started I quickly learned what Eddie already knew, the next time I’d see Eddie would be at the finish line. I wasn’t mad, he had his own limits to test, I was on my own.

I started at a great pace. I run with the Nike+ plus app which alerted me at the half mile point that I was running at an 8 min mile pace. At the one mile mark everything changed. I found myself slowing down, at one point a woman with a double stroller zipped buy and I could swear I read one baby’s lips as he said to the other “he ain’t gon make it.” I’m proud to say that baby lied! I cranked up my way too vulgar and misogynistic playlist, put my head down and just ran. I even had a little left in the tank to push myself harder for the last half mile. Though my Nike+ informed me when my pace dropped to 9min then 10, I didn’t stop until Eddie was patting me on the back and shoving a bottle of water and a banana into my hands.  I was happy to finish and proud of my effort.

My Time – 32:42

It is what it is. My nonscientific unnsubstantiated theory is that every pound I drop not only will make me run faster because there’ll be less weight to haul, the muscles used to lose that weight will be stronger and as such primed to help me knock a few more seconds off of each mile. If you know differently, keep it to yourself.. no seriously.

My Body

I was worried about my knees but they remained strong throughout. I didn’t have any back pain but I could feel my right achilles tightening up towards the end. Later in the day I got a calf cramp but I attribute that to not stretching post-race.

Fuel

Friday night I had fajitas. I love Mexican food but tried to cut back on the chips. Saturday morning I didn’t want anything to heavy so I had a couple pears, a banana and lots of water. So, here’s the deal. Nature has these things called diuretics. Diuretics have a laxative effect when eaten is large quantity (think prunes). Pears, while not as strong, are also on the list. I didn’t have an accident, but my stomach was not in a good place.

Lessons Learned

  • Focus on eating better in the 24 hours prior to a race.
  • Stretch… a lot. before and after a race.
  • Take 2 advil for inflammation prior to a race

My Playlist

I don’t excuse the music I listen to. While I wouldn’t listen to it in the car with Ella, in my headphones it helps me get where I need to go. If you have any recommendations, I’m all ears.

  • Rack City -Tyga
  • Pump it up -Joe Budden
  • I’m the Shit -DJ Class and Little Jon
  • Stuntin Like My Daddy -Lil Wayne and Birdman
  • HYFR -Drake
  • I Get It In -Omarion and Lil Wayne
  • Kyoto -Skillrex (this is my power song)
  • Two Words -Kanye, Mos Def and Freeway
  • The Motto – Lil Wayne and Drake
  • Over -Drake

20120613-073204.jpg

20120613-073441.jpg
Me and Eddie
20120613-073500.jpg
There are some lines made for crossing!
6 thoughts on “Beat the Deadline 5K

  1. Like most things in life, people aren’t prepared mentally for challenges thus the high rate of people coming up short. You can buid a program to prepare physically, but what does your program look like to prepare mentally?

  2. The song that really kept me focused and inspired was “Control” by Janet Jackson. Both the rhythm and the song lyrics kept me going.

  3. “Til I Collapse” – Eminem
    “Won’t Back Down” – Eminem
    “X Gon Give It To Ya” – DMX
    “Last of a Dying Breed” Ludacris ft. Lil Wayne
    “The Champ” – Ghostface
    “99 Problems” – Jay-Z
    “Stronger” – Kanye
    “Come Get Me” – Nas
    “Here I Come” – The Roots
    “All I Do is Win (remix)” – DJ Khaled

    ….just to name a few

  4. ‘Til I Collapse Intro:

    ‘Cause sometimes you just feel tired, feel weak

    And when you feel weak, you feel like you wanna just give up.

    But you gotta search within you, you gotta find that inner strength

    And just pull that shit out of you and get that motivation to not give up

    And not be a quitter, no matter how bad you wanna just fall flat on your face and collapse.

  5. I love the post and I appreciate the tips. I also want to get involved in a 5K this year. And thanks for educating me that a 5K is not actually 5 miles as I have thought for the past 31 years, but is actually 3.1 miles!

    • Thanks Rick. It’s definitely doable. When I first started, it was walking for 30 min. Then it was walking the “straights” and running the “curves” on a high school track. Also, there are a lot of couch to 5K programs. Hit me up if you need one.

Leave a Reply

