The Tipping Point

Things change. They always have and they always will. However, there are times when that change is dramatic. It could be a turn for the good or bad, it could be for a multitude of reasons. The period in which that drastic change takes place can be referred to as the “tipping point.”

I’ve had several such moments. In 1985, as a 4th grader I made up my mind to tell Milan – the most beautiful 4th grader in the universe – that I liked her. After much consideration I decided to tell her on the second to the last day of school. As the fates would have it, the 3rd to the last day of school was the last time I ever saw her. At that moment I made up my mind to tell people, especially women, exactly how I felt about. I didn’t know it at the time, but that was the first of many tipping points in my life that resulted from my own conscious effort.

A few months ago I underwent a battery of medical tests. I was over 240 pounds and I braced myself for the bad news. To my surprise, my first round of tests came back positive. No diabetes, good blood pressure, and cholesterol along with the rest of the measurables. The next set of tests were not as cheery. The orthopedist I’d visited informed me that my knees were structurally sound but that I have bone spurs in my right knee and that the same leg would never have full range of motion -I’m missing 5-7% due to scar-issue from one of two knee surgeries I had a lifetime ago. The doctor informed me that the pain I feel is from arthritis and that it will only get worst as I get older.

While I cannot be sure that this is the time losing weight sticks, or rather, that I stick to the process, I’m committed to making this go-round the one that counts. Truth be told, at this weight, its foolhardy to think that positive tests will always be in the cards for me. Add to that, the fact that as I get older I’ll a lose mobility, and there’s no time like the present to turn to make some positive long-term changes. It all starts today.

One thought on “The Tipping Point

  1. It is so awesome that you are fighting for your health and mobility in the long term. I have had the very same thought lately brought on by pain in my hips when I exercise or walk long distances. How long do I expect the numbers to be in my favor if I don’t get proactive about my health. Inspired by you I am gonna start two small commitments: (1) This is the weekend I exercise Friday, Saturday and Sunday (2) I will continue to read this blog to stay on this journey with you. Rock on!

    -Tai

Leave a Reply

